Once again we go far into the dark realms of Internet past to resuscitate an Inquisition from the very deceased Grace & Fury website. This interview with Matt Fox from the great Shai Hulud was the first in the series of articles which debuted in early 2001. I think. Matt and the band are on tour right now, so we’re dredging up this yellowed snapshot.

What’s the last album you listened to?
Sepultura – Chaos AD.  I’m listening to it as I answer these questions!!

What is one album you feel everyone should listen to?
Wow, tough choice, there are so many.  As of right now I will say, Damnation AD – Kingdom of Lost Souls.  It is a great album that really got no recognition.  Such a shame, it is a great record.  Listen all the way through a couple of times.  Pay close attention. There are some brilliant moments. It’s one of my favorites.

Name one person, present or past, that you would love to collaborate/jam with.
Hmm, another tough one.  There are just so many people.  It would depend on my mood really, If I was in the mood for heavy and aggressive music, I would say James Hetfield from Metallica.  That would certainly be wonderful. If I was in a lighter and more cerebral mood, I would say, Paul Simon. That would be incredible.  To write a song with Mr. Simon would be a dream come true.

Name one person outside of music that you admire and why.
Jim Henson, creator of The Muppets.  Mr. Henson and his vision/brilliance is responsible for enlightening, educating, and entertaining billions of children and adults regardless of gender, race or religion.  It’s quite an accomplishment. He made a deep and positive impression on the world for what will most likely be centuries to come.  That is admirable.

Do you read music?
Not even one note.

Any other obsessions/passions besides music?
Aside from music, I love film and theater.  I love everything about a good movie or play, but above all, I appreciate realistic and clever dialogue, and good acting.  In the future I would love to write plays and screenplays.  I also love to act, mainly on stage.  During my short stint in college, I majored in Drama /Theater, I would love to act on stage again. I’ll get back to it one day.

What was your first guitar, do you still have it?
My first Guitar was a black Ibanez that I bought from a pawn shop in 1991. I loved that thing, but my friends in Strongarm took it apart with plans of doing something, I can’t remember what. I don’t have it anymore, unfortunately. It sat in pieces at Josh Colbert’s (guitarist of Strongarm) house for a few years. I have no idea what happened to it. I still love Ibanez guitars though.

