Inquistion: Alan Morse of Spock’s Beard

Here’s yet another archive Inquisition from the deceased Grace & Fury website. Enjoy the exchange with Alan Morse, guitarist of prog torch bearers Spock’s Beard.

What’s the last album you listened to?
I listened to a couple of cuts off “Tom Jones Greatest Hits” the other day, truly hysterical stuff. There’s this song on it called “The Young New Mexican Puppeteer” the never fails to crack me up, it’s so weird. The last time I listened to a whole album it would have been Ian Hunter’s first solo album. Mick Ronson’s guitar playing on that record is the killerest thing in the world!

What is one album you feel everyone should listen to?
David Bowie “Aladdin Sane”. Another Mick Ronson masterpiece. Did I mention I like Mick Ronson?

Name one person, present or past, that you would love to collaborate/jam with.
Hendrix. What can I say? Or Mick Ronson…

Name one person outside of music that you admire and why.
My Dad. He just does what he wants, he doesn’t care what anybody thinks!

Do you read music?
I can, but not very well, I rarely have a need to. I guess it might help me remember all those 20 minute epics we do in Spock’s Beard, but it’s a little late to start now…

Any other obsessions/passions besides music?
Hanging out with my family, crossword puzzles, playing Tetris & Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo, drinking good coffee!

What was your first guitar, do you still have it?
My first guitar was probably one of those black “Stella” three quarter size ones. Great cheap guitars. I don’t have the original one, but I bought one just like it on ebay, it’s really fun. I looked around for one for years, I guess that’s the beauty of ebay, you can find weird old obscure stuff that isn’t worth much to anybody else, like old Captain Beefheart records or something.

Leave a Reply

