John Baizley, Baroness recovering from bus accident

Guitarist/vocalist John Baizley has posted a lengthy update about the state of Baroness following their severe bus crash on August 15. Metalsucks has posted the entire piece, excerpted here:

My left arm was crushed beyond belief, broken in the middle of the bone in my upper arm (humerus), and hanging 90 degrees backwards, with many spurs of bone poking through muscles and sinew at the surface of my skin. The bone was shattered into seven free-floating pieces, and my wrist and hand were swinging behind my back, spasming freely. (M)y arm was rebuilt with the aid of 2 massive titanium plates, 20 screws and a foot-and-a-half of wire. The 15″ incision took almost 50 staples to close up. While I cannot lift a glass of water to my lips to drink with my left arm and hand, I am still able to play music with it. I picked up a guitar and played the day after I returned. Not without pain (for the time being), but the hand still acts out the creative impulses I give it.

It’s quite compelling reading. As the official Baroness site seems flooded with traffic, you can read Baizley’s entire piece at Metalsucks.

Right here.

Leave a Reply

