Steve Vai is back in the press with the pending release of his new album The Story of Light. You can read a new interview with Mr. Vai at Jam Magazine. The article sheds fresh light on old topics, such as Vai’s stepping into high profile guitar slots vacated by the likes of Eddie Van Halen and Yngwie Malmsteen:

The key to dealing with the long shadows they cast was the simple fact I was fiercely confident in my abilities. My style … was my own little secret. I figured that if I was going to go out into the world and play, I had to keep real what was important to me.

Also discussed is the guitarist’s other role as composer:

I was recently commissioned to write a piece of music for the 2013 Stravinsky Festival (which is) happening on the 100th anniversary of the Rite of Spring performance. The concept revolves around seeing if someone can compose a piece of music that is as jarring as Stravinsky’s legendary work. It’s virtually impossible to do that today, but how could I turn something like that down?

Read much more at Jam.

Right here.

