Guernsey’s auction house will host a sale of nearly 300 vintage archtop, flattop, and classical/flamenco guitars from a private collection in April. Guitar connoisseur Hank Risan began amassing his impressive arsenal in 1970, according to a new article in Guitar Aficionado. As he told the publication, “I wanted to buy a 1929 000-45 more than anything, and that set me on my journey. I probably bought and sold more than 10,000 instruments putting my collection together.”
Get a load of the available assortment, via GA:
The selection of instruments is staggering, consisting of various D’Angelico, Epiphone, Gibson, Gretsch, Larson, Martin, National, Regal, Stromberg, and Washburn guitars from the 1890s through the Fifties as well as classical/flamenco guitars from master builders like Antonio de Torres, José Ramírez, Manuel Ramírez, and Ignacio Fleta.
Read more and see photos at GA.
